What kind of heater do you all recommend for my coop?

starmaid

Hatching
5 Years
Jul 20, 2014
It's a small coop, but it's a COLD winter, and my four girls need warmth during those long cold months.

Hi starmaid. I am just a novice at this but i live in northeast Indiana and it can get pretty cold here too. We are going with a heatlamp with a 125 watt bulb. It provides heat and light at the same time. The area i have my chickens is big enough that they can get away from the heat if they want. Since they are just a month old they still kind of like the heat. I have heard as they get older they may not even need heat but i plan on going with it this yr at least. Good luck!

We live in Minnesota, and our coop is insulted with 15 chickens in it. We run an extension cord to it in the winter. Last year we used a small portable heater with a fan, but this year we want to use passive heat since the heater kept getting filled up with dust. We don't want to use a heat lamp because of fire risk. Most of the small non-fan space heaters use more power than extension cords are rated to handle.

Question: If we made a metal or wood box with 4-6 100 watt light bulbs in it, would that provide enough passive heat when we have several nights that get below zero, including an occasional -20 or worse temp? The coop is 6 x 9 feet with insulated walls and good insulation. FYI we have a Phoenix hen and a Polish hen among the birds, and those breeds aren't supposed to be very cold hardy.

Thoughts and alternative suggestions are appreciated. Thank you!

We live in Minnesota, and our coop is insulted with 15 chickens in it. We run an extension cord to it in the winter. Last year we used a small portable heater with a fan, but this year we want to use passive heat since the heater kept getting filled up with dust. We don't want to use a heat lamp because of fire risk. Most of the small non-fan space heaters use more power than extension cords are rated to handle.