What the heck breed/color am I?! 4 week bantam.

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Yoshii, Apr 16, 2009.

1. Yoshii

Yoshii Chillin' With My Peeps

Hi! I asked for ID on this little fella when she (she? Lookin' like it so far) was about three days old, but I wanted to ask again now, cos she's not looking like ANY d'Uccle I've ever seen. She's about four weeks old now.

[​IMG]

I'm not good at telling, but it certainly doesn't LOOK like she has a single comb. It's looking more like a pea comb or a walnut comb?! Tiny, flat, pale yellow and sorta wrinkly. My other two d'Uccles have clear single combs at this age.

[​IMG]

And she's looking sort of cuckoo, but the feathers coming in at her breast and neck are white with a little brown in the center.

[​IMG]

...and she looks bearded and tufted.

[​IMG]

See her lighter breast feathers? They're coming in around her neck, too. Yeah, I got no idea. And with her comb, her beard, her tuft and her indeterminate color, I was starting to figure bantie EE, but...

[​IMG]

Slate, lightly feathered legs! And they're only lightly feathered, absolutely NOTHING compared to my two d'Uccles at the same age.

[​IMG]

One more shot of her feathers.

Any ideas? Whatever she is, she's pretty!

Last edited: Apr 16, 2009
  2. ksacres

ksacres At Your Service

Nov 16, 2007
    San Antonio TX
    EE cross.

3. Yoshii

Quote:Hm, really? Because I got her from TSC, and they got her from a hatchery (I forget which). Would either TSC or a hatchery have mutts?

4. farmgirlie1031

farmgirlie1031 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 26, 2008
    IA
    She looks a lot like some of mine that I hatched out this spring from a EE hen and a cochin roo. Most of my hatchery order turned out mutts when I ordered and paid for pure RIR, BO, Barred Rock, and White Leghorns so yeah a hatchery does have mutts.

5. Yoshii

Also, if it would help, here's a pic of her at a couple days old. No EE chipmunkiness here xD!

[​IMG]

6. pinkfeather