What time of day to hens lay?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by cejones119, Sep 21, 2010.

1. cejones119

cejones119 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 4, 2010
    I have so many newbie questions it's impressive! It has been a week and a half since I got my year old hens. I have one EE, one black sex-link, and one EE cross. They were already established layers, but still aren't laying for me! I thought maybe they were laying in the yard since they are free range during the day so I've been keeping them in until around 1:00 or so before I let them out. Should they be done laying by this point in the day? Any other suggestions as to how to encourage them to lay/ why they might not be laying? I have golfballs in the nest box, layer feed, plenty of water and oyster shells. I don't know what the problem is!

2. melloladies

melloladies Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 28, 2010
    Merritt Island
    [​IMG]
    I'm a newbie myself, but I hear that changing homes (and a variety of other things) can stress out the hens which causes them to stop laying temporarily. Should pick up again. I'm not sure where you live vs. where they came from, but heat is a big factor too.
    Good luck to you!

3. CMV

CMV Flock Mistress

Apr 15, 2009
    The problem is that they are stressed from moving. Chickens hate change, so a change of address can throw them off lay for up to a month. Once they start they will lay whenever they want. I have some that lay in the morning and some that lay in the afternoon. If they have a good idea of where home is then they will sometimes stop free-ranging, return to the coop, and lay in their nesting boxes. But then again, sometimes they won't stop free-ranging and you'll be hunting through the tall grass for hidden eggs.

Good luck.

4. cejones119

cejones119 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 4, 2010