What type of bedding for coop?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Leisa1968, Nov 3, 2011.

1. Leisa1968

Leisa1968 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 30, 2011
    Asheville, NC
    I am still VERY NEW at this! But I did get my chicks outside FINALLY! But have to admit I am still heating them a little bit [​IMG] I was wondering? What type of bedding is best for a coop? I have the coop attatched to a run. Do you only put bedding in the NESTING BOXES? The WHOLE COOP HOUSE? Or do you ALSO put it in the RUN? I'm still learning and it gets down in the lower thirties already here. THANKS FOR THE ADVISE! I really need it!!![​IMG]

2. SteveBaz

SteveBaz Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 6, 2011
    Pacific North West
    [​IMG]

Everyone does it a bit different but when it comes to the coop floor and the sleeper I use The Deep Litter Method with wood shavings;

Here is the brooder
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Here is the coop
    [​IMG]

I use all the wasted dirty (poop free) shavings for out in the run. Good luck

3. PetRock

PetRock Overrun With Chickens

Apr 28, 2010
    SF Bay Area, CA
    [​IMG]