when do your chickens lay eggs?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by asale003, Aug 6, 2014.

1. asale003

asale003 New Egg

Jun 18, 2014
    Wake, VA
    My chickens have just started laying. The time they lay has been different everyday. For example, one morning I can collect 3 eggs and maybe 2 more around lunch but the next day, they don't lay eggs until late afternoon.

So I am curious, what time of day do your chickens lay eggs?

2. familyfarm1

familyfarm1 Overrun With Chickens

Jun 9, 2013
    Northern Virginia
    All times of the day for me.

3. asale003

asale003 New Egg

Jun 18, 2014
    Wake, VA
    Do they lay consistently at certain times such as 1 always lays in the morning and another always lays at lunchtime? I am new to raising chickens. Will they become more regular about when they lay?

4. krista74

krista74 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 4, 2014
    Victoria, Australia.
    I have 4 RIR hens and 2 BO' hens.

The BO's lay very early in the morning 6 days out of 7 (they have a 'rest' day one day per week.) One lays right on dawn, and the other is usually on the nest when I take them breakfast about 8am.

Of the 4 RIR's, two lay early in the day (both between 8am and 10am) and the other two lay in the afternoon, between 2pm and 4pm. They all take one day off per week to reset as well.

Technically, 'they' say that hens will lay an egg every 25-26 hours. This means that they 'should' lay at 8am one day, 9am the next, 10am the following day and so on, until they do a late afternoon lay and then reset for a day (have a day off.)

It never worked that way with my girls. [​IMG] They seem to have nailed down their own schedules, and I can pretty much look at the clock at any time of day and know how many eggs are waiting for me. I'm not sure if this is usual, or if I have little weirdo chickens, lol.

They have been laying for about 3 months, and are now 8 months old, or thereabouts.

- Krista

Last edited: Aug 6, 2014
  5. Ridgerunner