When does the OCD end and the acceptance begin? (Duck Mess)

DoodlesDuckies

Chirping
Apr 17, 2024
Northcentral Wisconsin
Ok, so I am new at this duck mom thing and don't get me wrong I love them and all. But WOW...everyday I am cleaning and spraying and cleaning and draining pools (yes 3 pools) and more spraying and more spraying and more spraying. I put out 3 pools, 3 water stations and 3 food stations and they choose a MUD PUDDLE every single time. (9 ducks and 2 geese) EVERY TIME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am going crazy.

Are they happy in the mud? Are ducks actually pigs in ducks feathers? Granted we have had a TON of rain this spring, which is not helping MY cleaning issues. I say MY because if ducks love water, mud and a clean dry hut at night with a clean pool then I am the problem expecting some sort of order and cleanliness from them.

I think the geese expect some order and cleanliness too because they look at those little piggies in disgust while they are drilling mud holes passing up clean water sources.

I think I am slowly beginning to accept the chaos of the mess but it has been a rough road this spring.

I have also apologized to my children (18 and 19 years old) for micro managing their mess ALL these year. The ducks/geese will be getting an apology too when I accept all this. :lau