When? Feeding? Nesting? Winter?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by TaysChicks, Sep 17, 2012.

1. TaysChicks

TaysChicks Out Of The Brooder

Jul 7, 2012
    So, I've mentioned I'm new at this. I have two lovely Buff Orpingtons, about 4-5months old. I have a few questions
    1.) Will they start laying soon? Is there something other than laying pellets that I should be giving them? (They are outside roaming my yard and garden most the days, unless it's raining, then they're cooped up. I do give them cottage cheese and scraps, but they don't take to them much. Just he cheeses they do.
    2.) I thought I'd save $ and use, from our lawnmower bag, our dried grass and weed for their nesting box. But, they scratch it out of their box (Which is a sideways crate). Is hay necessary? And when roaming outside, do I have a nesting box out there too? Any Suggestions on how (dark area, up high)? My Coop was homemade... Didn't really think it too thro. So, I have to manually put them in and take them out.
    3.) MINNESOTA WINTERS! At only 6-7month can they handle the cold? How cold?
    4.) They are getting adventerous. Can you clip their wings? Where can I find out how to do this?... I otherwise wouldn't do this... But, with 4 dogs on the other side of the fence... I'm thinking so!
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG] blue crate is nesting box

2. chfite

chfite Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 7, 2011
    Taylors, SC
    They should start to lay soon. About 24 weeks or so.

I use the pine shavings in the nest boxes. You can buy at Tractor Supply or likely other feed stores. I would think hay and grass would be too moist an environment, but haven't tried them.

The chickens will acclimate to the weather. 6 months is essentially mature. So long as the coop has ventilation and is not drafty, they should do well. From the photograph you posted, it appears that ventilation is sorely lacking.