when the hen starts laying

dreamcatcher12

In the Brooder
5 Years
Aug 1, 2014
Gaston South Carolina
Hi I'm new to BYC and new to raising chickens I have 2 hens and I believe one has started to lay eggs I say one because there is only one egge a day well the first time there was 2 but there after wasonly one a day. They are 15 weeks old and I feed them chick starter the food you get when you first buy ur babies. Now that they are going to start laying eggs should I start to feed them something else and if so what should I give them. Also I wasnt expecting them to start laying so soon and was told I didnt need nesting boxes till they were 5 months old so she is just laying on the floor of the house is it going to be hard to get her to go into a nesting box now. Is there anyone out there that can give me some advice and thank you in advance.

Welcome to BYC! I would build a box asap and if she has trouble use a fake egg or golf ball. Just leave it and she should get the hint. If they're only 15 weeks you could stick with the layer feed and add a bowl of oyster shell free choice. Then you can slowly switch to layers ration. Do it gradually over a week or so. Just mix a little more of the new feed each day.

Hello there and welcome to BYC!
frow.gif

You need to get them all on layer feed now. They will need lots of calcium to make those hard egg shells. They can easily become egg bound without sufficient calcium. And while you are at the feed store, get some oyster shell too. You can keep some of this in a separate feeder or bowl so if they need extra calcium, they can pick thru this and eat it for more calcium.