When to expect eggs or if at all in winter?

billdane

In the Brooder
Nov 13, 2015
Wilsonville AL
Hey guys I'm new to all this and not sure if my question went through. I have 24 and 16 week old chickens that are not laying yet. It is starting to get colder here in Alabama and just trying to figure out if I am going to get any at all or should just wait till spring. I have them on grower feed bc of the younger ones with calcium on the side free of choice.
Thanks
Billy

How do the older birds' combs and wattles look. If they are growing and turning red you may be close.
You can also check the space between the pelvic bones. If it is 2 fingers width or more, laying is imminent.
The only reason winter has anything to do with it is the length of day. Once lay commences, it will continue regardless of temperature unless well below zero causes stress.

I wrote the following in another thread that explains the science behind light and egg laying.

Light exposure to the retina is first relayed to the nucleus of the hypothalamus, an area of the brain that coordinates biological clock signals. Fibers from there descend to the spinal cord and ultimately project to the superior cervical ganglia, from which neurons ascend back to the pineal gland. The pineal gland translates signals from the nervous system into a hormonal signal.
The gland produces serotonin and subsequently melatonin, a hormone that affects the gonads for sperm production in males and ovulation in females. An increase in melatonin causes the gonads to become inactive. Since photoperiod in relation to day vs. night is the most important clue for animals to determine season. As it lengthens, the gonads are rejuvenated. The duration of melatonin secretion each day is directly proportional to the length of the night because of the pineal gland's ability to measure daylength. Besides reproduction, it also affects sleep timing and blood pressure regulation.

Last edited: