1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

When will they lay????

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by nhchickmom, Oct 1, 2009.

1. nhchickmom

nhchickmom Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 6, 2008
    Thornton, NH
    Hi all,

So my pullets are now 23 weeks old and none of them are laying, even though a few have full combs and are very red. I have 2 ee, 2 barred rocks, and 2 welsummers. Shouldn't the barred's atleast be laying?

Also this may sound stupid, but will they figure out how to do it, where to lay them? We have 4 hens and none of them are laying now because they are in a heavy moult so the pullets can't even learn from example. Am I over thinking this? We got the original 4 hens when they were already laying so I am new to this.

Any thoughts?

2. Clay In Iowa

Clay In Iowa Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 9, 2008
    Near Wilton Iowa
    They will begin laying when they are ready and stop long after you are sick of eggs.....

3. shaggy

shaggy Chillin' With My Peeps

May 11, 2009
    Orange, Texas
    instinct/bodily functions > learned behaviors

i am sure they are close to laying ... just have to give them time

women don't have to figure out how to have their period - chickens don't have to figure out how to lay an egg .... their bodies just know how and will perform those functions when their body is ready

where to lay ... i am not sure ... but i believe that is determined by instinct as well

no worries ... over thinking leads to greater understanding.

no reason to get stressed over it though .... it will happen when it happens and there is nothing anyone can do to make it happen any sooner

4. Clay In Iowa

Oct 9, 2008
    Near Wilton Iowa