Where to place waterers and feeders

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by MoonShadows, Mar 19, 2013.

1. MoonShadows

MoonShadows The Jam Man

Jan 23, 2013
    Pocono Mtns
    My Coop
    Should waterers and feeders be placed in the coop, the run, or both?

2. 3KillerBs

3KillerBs Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 10, 2009
    North Carolina Sandhills
    I'm a total newb, but in what I've read I can find no downsides to doing what you need to do to make sure that you can access feeders, waterers, and nest boxes from outside the chicken's area.

3. QuietPony

QuietPony Chillin' With My Peeps

I plan on having one in the run and one in the coop. I know there will be days where the weather will keep them inside the coop so they will need something in there. I'm only having a small flock though so feeders will not be to big. :)

4. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner True BYC Addict

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    Pure personal preference. You’ll find some of us have feeders inside, some outside, and some in both places. The only rule is that it needs to stay dry. And even then some people purposely wet their feed. There are advantages and disadvantages to all three.

If it is inside, they will spend more time inside. Chickens poop a lot wherever they are. If they spend more time inside you might find yourself managing the poop a bit more than otherwise. Might. Depends on number of chickens, size of the coop, and how you manage the bedding and poop anyway.

Some people find if they put food outside they wind up feeding a lot of wild birds.

Some people feed outside to try to not attract mice inside the coop.

If you let your chickens out fairly soon after they wake up, it doesn’t matter. But if you like to sleep in on the weekend or they wind up locked in the coop for a long period after they wake up, it’s probably a good idea to have feed inside where they can get to it. Water works the same way.