Which ones are gonna "Get It" first

Recon

In the Brooder
11 Years
Sep 12, 2008
I've had some Cornish Crosses going since August 6th. I've never done meat chickens like this before... some of them are staring to to look pretty large. They have very well developed combs and they seem quite large to me. I figure they are probably males.

I had planned to do them all on the second weekend in October when they would be nine weeks old, but now I'm thinking maybe I should spread the work out over a couple sessions and do the bigger ones now.....

Are they ready to go? Is the comb any indicator?
Thoughts?

Thanks!

Last edited:
I do the processing by myself, the "boss" does the packaging. I spread the event over a couple of days. The last 7 birds are going to be done this Sunday if it's nice out. I usually start earlier also, at around 6-7 weeks. I'll keep a few for the 8+ lbs range for family & company.

OK, I did the deed.... processed six today. I think I should have only done four for the first go. I was by myself and it seemed like those last two took me out of the "this is kinda fun" zone into the "hey, this is work" zone!

I went slow and took my time. I have butchered birds before but never chickens. Always used a good sharp hatchet in the past. Today, I tried the "pithing" thing I read about in so many other threads here. Gotta say it didn't work for me. I don't know if I had my knife pointed in the wrong direction or what, but I didn't get a "lights out" response. Not even close. As the bird suffered I felt like an a$$. I quickly went back to what I knew best.

I also tried a killing cone screwed to a tree. I used a one gallon water jug.... it didn' cut it at all. The birds were too big. I needed to use a more heavy duty plastic bottle or something if I was going to use a killing cone effectively.