White Silkie Hatch - January 7 - BAD news!

turtle1173

Songster
11 Years
Apr 26, 2008
SE Missouri
This is my first attempt at hatching Silkie eggs. Anyone have any advice or anything you would like to offer?

Anyway, today (Sunday) is day 4. That puts hatch day at January 7th.

Oh, by the way, I've got 21 of these beauties!! Woo Hoo!!
jumpy.gif
jumpy.gif
I've never had more than 2 hatch during any batch of eggs, so I'm hopeful I'll do a little better this time.

Shane

Last edited:
Good luck! I put 18 Silkie eggs in the bator on Thursday, So we are due about the same time. I think the temp is the most important part. I have had pretty good hatches so far so I am hoping this one goes well also. If you don't have a turner then remembering to turn several times a day is important, I keep my humidity around 45 the first few weeks but if its lower or higher I don't stress over it really. I just think the most important part is getting the humidity up before hatch, and no matter what stay away from the bator. I learned the hard way to not open it. It is not worth a bunch of chicks so sticky they can't move or zip because the humidity dropped from opening it. So from now on no openning the bator til they have all hatched or its been long enough and there are no pips left.

Hey, great, it looks like we are hatching on the same day.

My first few batches of eggs I did, I hand turned 3 times each day. It got to be a little taxing to be home to do that, so I bought a turner. Much much easier but I didn't do any better on my last hatch. However most of the eggs were scrambled when I candled at day 10. The egg turner sure can't undo that, LOL.

Shane