Why are automatic coop doors so expensive? Why????

mountaintopchicken

Songster
12 Years
May 23, 2007
I just don't understand how a little thingie with a timer and a motor that lifts a light piece of aluminum or wood cost so much money. Cheapest option is the add a motor at $90.

But after that the prices seem to run in the 180 - 324.99 (!!!!) range.

Seriously. I can buy a remote control helicopter that actually flies for $20 on amazon (I did and it's cool). You can buy a thingie on amazon that is a remote control vehicle that kids can drive around the house and spy on people with for $70. You can get a toy crocodile that sings and wags its tail when you walk by it for $14.

So why, why, is a little gizmo that lifts something on a timer a gazillion dollars
somad.gif
:? It makes no sense to me.

I've been looking into making my own for less money, but I have no knowledge of mechanical and electric things. Instructions I've seen involve the word "solenoid" which makes me shudder, I'd have to find out what one is and what to do with it.

I've seen nifty's posts about making one, and I'm looking at this guy's alarm clock opener here:

http://blog.stead.id.au/2010/01/building-automatic-chicken-door-opener.html

But
I have to say that if a company came out with a very simple option for $40 or under they would make a killing. Why doesn't somebody do it
fl.gif
?

I am the automatic pop door opener here, No way I would spend that kind of money on an automatic door. Besides it gives me a chance to check on them and hang out for a few before they head outdoors for the day. I am disgusted with most of the prices for chicken necessities, the hanging feeders are $30 or more?!?!?! Heck I went to menards, got me a few buckets, drilled some holes and attatched a stainless steel feed pan to the bottom and voila a homemade hanging feeder for less then $10
big_smile.png