why didnt you all tell me geese are so great!

thecityman

Songster
11 Years
Jun 14, 2010
Orlinda, TN
I've done quail, turkey, and LOTS of chickens, though all on a small scale and I'm no expert on any. But just a few weeks ago I acquired my first geese...2 baby toulouse that were 2-3 weeks old. OMG they are the greatest birds...no, wait...perhaps even the greatest ANIMALS I've ever had. They are now about a month to 6 weeks old and I'm stunned by how smart they are, but most of all.....I am blown away by how friendly ONE of them is. This brings me to a question. According to the lady I got them from, they were both from the same mom, hatched at same time, and neither had been exposed to people much at all. Well, within just a day or two it was incredibly clear that there are HUGE HUGE differences in the 2 personalities, and I'm very curious to know why, or at least whether that is common. On of them hates being picked up, is clearly scared of me, and if put down immediately runs away. The other one could not be more opposite, and it is why I've fallen in love with geese. It absolutely loves being held, if put down it runs straight to me and stands there and lets me pick it up without even fidgeting at all. Best of all, it follows me EVERYWHERE....stays so close to my heels that I have to be very careful not to step on it. SO what do you all think? Why would 2 siblings with exact same history be so incredibly different? Ever heard of such a thing? Obviously I wonder if the skidish one had some kind of tramatic experience with a human but I find it doubtful since they were all just out in the lady's back field being raised by their natural mom. ANyway, just curious. WOuld welcome any insights or comments. I LOVE MY NEW LITTLE GOOSE (yes, I confess to having a favorite and I bet you can guess which one!)
kevin