Why get ducks instead of chickens?

domromer

Songster
12 Years
May 11, 2007
Flagstaff,AZ
I'm deciding between ducks and chickens. I've had chickens before so I have some poultry experience. I've heard certain breeds of ducks are prolific layers and are generally healthier and more hardy than chickens. This definitely appeals to me. I just wanted to hear from other duck owners as to why they chose ducks over chickens. I was thinking of getting Kahiki campbells. I like that they are good layers and very quiet as well.

Khakis, my favorite subject! I have 8 week old Khakis, one pekin and I think one rouen. Love them! The khakis are very laid back, don't make much noise, eat out of my hand, follow me around the yard, and mostly a great entertainers. They are a blast to watch in the water! I have them on my website if you want to see more. I'm pretty much addicted!

To me, ducks have more personality than chickens. It's so great to see ducks waddling around the yard and playing in puddles.

They are extremely cold hardy and, for me, are easier to take care of in the winter than chickens are. I use a big black rubber bowl for their water, and every morning I just kicked the ice out and filled it with warm water. For the chickens I was constantly dealing with frozen waterers and frozen poop all over everything. That's another nice thing about ducks, they don't fly all over and poop on everything.

Khaki Campbells and Welsh Harlequins are the most prolific egg layers, followed by Runners. My Khakis are friendly and curious, I really enjoy the breed. I'm getting Welsh Harlequins in a few days, so then I'll be able to compare the two breeds.

The right ducks are laying machines! I love my silver appleyards. My kids always choose duck eggs over chicken eggs for meals if given a choice.

We have Duck and Chickens.

Way more chickens than ducks.