Will Hens go Looking for a Rooster?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Patinas, Mar 29, 2017.

1. Patinas

Patinas Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 22, 2017
    Washington
    I don't know if this a dumb question or not but I don't want to have a rooster in my flock (this is my first time raising chickens). I live on 5+ acres but a couple of my distant neighbors have roosters because I do hear them crowing.

If I don't have a rooster and my hens are free ranging on days when I'm home, will they seek out the roosters if they hear them? I don't want my hens wandering off looking for love!

1 person likes this.
  2. oldhenlikesdogs

oldhenlikesdogs Lots of Chickens Premium Member

Jul 16, 2015
    central Wisconsin
    Hens bond to a territory, so it would be unnatural for them to wander off, even for a rooster. More than likely they might become more vocal hoping to draw a male in.

3. chickens really

chickens really Overrun With Chickens

;)....If it was up to a Hen, their would be no Roosters...:)....Your Hens will not go looking for love...The Rooster will not come looking for Hens.....Your safe in that situation ...:)

Cheers!

4. centrarchid

centrarchid Chicken Obsessed

Sep 19, 2009
    Holts Summit, Missouri
    My hens without a rooster will often move to where they hear an adult rooster. The home range / territoriality does slow the process. What the hen will do is adjust her free-ranging habits slowly over time and she will become more vocal at times, especially around egg laying time. Roosters (mature) without a harem will respond more quickly to such signals from an unattached hen and be more apt to go to hen if not more than a couple hundred yards away. That usually takes time as well. What speeds things up is a predator disturbance causing range / roost site to shift. I have had single hens move 1/4 mile over the course of a summer. I do not know if males will go so far unless disturbed because they are managed more closely.