Will it be ok to fed this?

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by tommboy1973, Jul 21, 2010.

1. tommboy1973

tommboy1973 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 8, 2010
    Hidden Valley, AZ
    This is my first time raising chickens, and have a mixed laying flock 12 weeks old. I have been using nutrena start & grow, but wanted to switch to Purina. I bought Flockraiser last night but after reading label realized it is for meat birds with 20% protein. Is it ok to feed to my chooks or should I return it?

2. 33yardbirds

33yardbirds Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 15, 2010
    Southern New Jersey
    It's the calcium % is what your concerned about. I have read though, too much protien too fast growth rate in bones that could lead to leg problems. I go 20% starter, 15% grower/finisher, 18% Layer, some folks go with a 20% layer.

3. Teach97

Teach97 Bantam Addict

Nov 12, 2008
    Hooker, OK
    i would feed it....in fact i have

4. Chook-A-Holic

Chook-A-Holic Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 5, 2009
    Central, N.C.
    They will do great on the Flock Raiser. Just remember to provide oyster shell to the girls that are laying age.

5. NevadaRon

NevadaRon Chillin' With My Peeps

May 28, 2010
    Dayton
    I've been using Flock Raiser almost from day one because it is the only kind you can buy here that isn't medicated, unless you want to buy 5 lb. bags [​IMG] I will switch to a layer feed when they are old enough.

6. Akane

Akane Overrun With Chickens

Jun 15, 2008