wings "sticking out" ??

opi8

In the Brooder
10 Years
Feb 20, 2009
Hi everybody!

I am new to raising chickens. My wife and I thought we would give it a try, for the fun and eggs. My chicks are 4 days old now and "seem" to be doing quite well besides some poop i clean from their rears everyday. I could almost watch them grow!!
I have a little concern with one of the chicks wing development. Granted they are only 4 days old but, a particular chicks wings seems to be growing outwards from its body. They look like "straw with tuffs of feathers at the tips". Hers are longer than the others and they seem to go away from the body. the other chicks developing wings are nicely "tucked in" near the body. Is this normal? When the chickens weight catches up with the wings will they eventually rest on her side? the chick i am referring to is a buff orpington.
If you need any info I am more than willing to provide it. I am soooo new to this, so please be patient.

Thanks for you help in advance..

Opi

I'm new to this too. Seems like i read something here about that but not sure. I would post this under emergency care thread. But don't panic it doesn't sound bad to me. Probably just need to add something to her diet. Good Luck and welcome to BYC.

welcome-byc.gif
Could you post a picture?

Quote:
That's what it sounds like to me. If you are able, post a picture of the chick in question and we should be able to tell you right off the bat. If that is the case, it's nothing to be worried about. It's just a different 'look' to the chickens. It's somewhat hard to come across too, so if that's it you got yourself a special little baby there. Look up 'frizzle chicken' on google and see if that's what your chick looks like.
smile.png

I did have a batch where about half of them had wings sticking out at odd angles after the first week. They all grew out of it by the time they finished feathering and are normal chickens now. Not sure what it was.