Winter floor litter management

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by lhousesoccer, Dec 16, 2010.

1. lhousesoccer

lhousesoccer Out Of The Brooder

Feb 26, 2010
    Hi - sorry if this is a rehash of previous conversations, but I searched and couldn't find anything. I'm new to chickens, and this is my first flock, started this spring from chicks. So, this is my first winter (in Vermont). I have 11 laying hens in a 6' x 8' coop, and use bales of pine shavings as floor litter. I have droppings boards under the roosts which I clean regularly, but they are in the coop all day, and of course go in the litter.

Now that it's below freezing temps outside, the litter is freezing hard, and the chickens kind of pack it down from being on it all day. I don't let them outside during the day when I'm not home, because I had a tree come down in a storm on my 25' x 25' covered run and bashed it to pieces and I haven't had a chance to repair it yet.

The litter on the floor is damp, and frozen solid, so it's obviously not absorbing and decomposing the chicken's droppings well, or at all. I try to break it up with a spade and turn it every couple of days. Is there something else I should be doing? Should I be shoveling out the litter completely and replacing it? Should I add straw?

Any tips would be appreciated! For reference, here's my coop and flock:

Flock
    https://www.backyardchickens.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=371130

Coop
    https://www.backyardchickens.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=371140

2. johny

johny Chillin' With My Peeps

May 22, 2010
    I figure, if it is frozen, it won't release toxic ammonia.
    So when the temperature rises enough to melt it, dig it out and put in some fresh.

3. sharol

sharol Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 13, 2010
    Admire, KS
    I have a 6x8 also. I'm not in your position at this time because my girls (7 of them) are in a run for part of the day.