Wisconsin Newbie

smkonop

Hatching
5 Years
Oct 26, 2014
Good afternoon! I am new to the BYC website and forum. I live in Green Bay, WI and am in search of info to start my chicken journey.
In the next few years my husband and I plan to move to the country and start a farm. We have decided that while we are stuck in the city we might as well start with the 4 chickens we are allowed here.
We are in search of info first on how to build a practical chicken coop that could house our chickens along with a connected run that we could potentially pull around our yard.
We also will need to find info on different heritage breeds that will suit our needs and our location. Wisconsin is similar to much of the upper Midwest. We have brutally cold winters and (usually) pretty hot and humid summers. Obviously not all breeds will fit into that category.
One of the things we are worried about is finding breeds that will lay in winter as well as the warmer months and also want the chickens to be friendly. We are also worried about finding a place that will sell one chicken at a time if possible.
If you have any help or suggestions, please feel free to comment back to me!

Hello and welcome! I can't answer all of your questions, but i'll try my best:)

-Chickens need light to lay eggs, so I don't know what the weather/sun is like where you live, but you may want to install a light in the coop if it's not sunny.

- Is there a feed bin near where you live? I personally have been getting my chicks at the feed bin, and they have loads of breeds to choose from, and they let you buy as many birds as you like.

- I think Plymouth Rock chickens do well in cold weather and they are friendly too. On the BYC website, at the top, there is a link with breeds, and you can go check that out and read reviews from people who have those chickens. You can also insulate your coop so it's warmer in the winter.

I hoped I somewhat helped and please ask if you have any more questions!

welcome-byc.gif