Worried about keeping my ducks safe from minc or weasel?!

cjduckmommy

Hatching
9 Years
Nov 4, 2010
Last June I lost two of my Welsh harlequin ducks out of six I had raised they were ok for around 3mos then one night they were attacked. I was EXTREMELY upset.... but because I was a beginner I really had no clue. So, we put the remaining four in an old hen house. We stapled what holes we could see with chicken wire, but what we couldn’t see was near the back. A line about 3 inches tall went across the entire back of the house. A Tarp was tucked in so we couldn’t see light coming through. About a month after putting them in there they were of course attacked again. 2 were dead when I found them and 1 drake and 1 hen were still alive, All I could think was to keep the remaining two alive.. Unfortunately one complete side of the drakes head was missing and his neck was broke I couldn’t believe that he was still living. I cleaned his wounds to make him comfortable (I had to hold up his head because he couldn’t) the hen luckily was okay. We took both to the vet because some part of me was still hoping I could save my drake (Skeeter) We had to put Skeeter down....:'( (Maisie) the hen, we put on antibiotics and I nursed her back to health and her new home was a shelter in the garage, only to have her fly away while she was free- ranging to the pond. I was heartbroken.