Young buckeye's with an older roo

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by jldaniel33, Feb 18, 2012.

1. jldaniel33

jldaniel33 Out Of The Brooder

Oct 20, 2011
    Ellensburg
    I am pretty new to chickens. I had been given some hens and an Americauna rooster last summer, but due to dog incident only had one barred rock hen and the roo in fall. I have raised 15 buckeyes and they have been out with the two older ones since Christmas with no problems. The Buckeyes are now about 15 weeks old and the big roo is starting some mating behavior I was told: biting the young hens in the neck to subdue them. I read somewhere that a big roo can break bones and otherwise really hurt the pullets by mounting them.

Should I separate the big roo? We are thinking of giving him away anyway now that the Buckeye roos are getting older. Are the pullets in danger if I leave them together?

2. Ducks and Banny hens

Ducks and Banny hens Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 22, 2011
    On a little Farm.
    Welcome to the Backyard Chickens website. Personnaly, it's been my experience that a big boy won't mount a hen until she's sexually mature (aka big enough to support his weight), and a large roo won't normally try to mate with wee little hens. If you witness him actually mounting the hens, and it seems to be hurting them, yes separate them. But I think you will be fine. I have had a semi-bantam rooster mount an OEGB hen several times (he was exactly 5 times her size), and the hen was fine. And yes, grabbing the hens by the back of the head is a mating behaviour, but not neccesarily ideal behaviour. Normally, a hen is first mounted roughly a week prior to her first egg. Ideal courtship behaviour would be if he strutted for the hens first.... Etiquette. If there are any hens with spurs, I would suggest breeding them -- they will have the most supreme sons.

3. jldaniel33

jldaniel33 Out Of The Brooder

Oct 20, 2011
    Ellensburg