What feed do you reccommend I get and why?

OrlandoFLACoop

In the Brooder
6 Years
Nov 4, 2013
Orlando, Florida
First of all, I am very new to BYC ( just joined today! ) and I love it already!

But anyway, I don't have chickens yet but we are planning on getting some this month. We would go to the Tractor Supply Co. here. We went yesterday and I saw brands like Purina Layena, Dumor, and some others that I don't remember. What brand do you reccommend, even not in those listed?
Thanks!
thumbsup.gif

What do you use to mix your feed? Does it save money?

I'm not sure it saves me money since organic human grain costs more than chicken feed. But it gives the hens variety. I use the following grains and mix and match.

quinea
oats
wheat germ
millet
corn
bulgar wheat
sesame seeds
other grains on sale
penuts

Then I add black sunflower seeds, mealworms (fed separate) and what ever else I have to throw them. Today the girls had mashed potatoes. Boy was that a hit

Ohh I forgot about oreos and crackers.
They eat the horse poo too, but they are not our horses and they just eat grass. I think that makes the horses Organic. I asked the chickens if they preferred organic.... They looked at me for a second and went back to eating the horse poo?

Welcome, I'm fairly new here too. I don't have any suggestions on feed that everyone else has offered. But I do have a tip on the getting your pullets. If your limit is three, I'd get all three at the same time. In my experience, if you initially get 2 then add 1 later on. That loner will most likely get picked on by the first 2 and hens can be brutal. I started with 4 hens two years ago; this year I got six more very young pullets, 2 at a time. Well, needless to say, I have 10 hens but actually 4 flocks. The two-year-olds pick on the six youngsters, the nine month olds pick on the 7 and 6 month old, and the 7 month old pick on the 6 month old. Guess that's where the old saying comes from "Pecking Order".