Accessorizing Your Run- How to Make Your Run More Fun For Your Chickens

By Bloveschickens · Dec 26, 2014 · Updated Jan 24, 2015 · ·
Rating:
4.7/5,
  1. fldiver97
    "Boredom busters for run"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 24, 2019 at 11:36 AM
    Enrichment of poultry environment is very beneficial, same as for any confined beings. Whether you have to use a run part or full time for your flock, using some of the suggestions in this article will provide entertainment for chickens as well as encourage natural behaviors and minimize issues like feather picking. Most of it can be done with no or little expense. No need to peel apples for chickens though unless you you want to go the extra mile ;)
  2. hispoptart
    "Awsome!!!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 23, 2019 at 9:52 PM
    Thanks for the info, I have been thinking about ways to make their run more fun.
  3. DrakeMom
    "This really inspires me!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 23, 2019 at 8:25 PM
    We have quite a large run so we have lots of room to set up all these fun things for the girls! I'm gonna go outside right now and start!
  4. BarnhartChickens98
    "Great info"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 22, 2019 at 1:22 PM
    Includes a lot of very helpful information!
  5. WELDON99
    "Great article"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 21, 2019 at 10:12 PM
    See my previous comments on this article!
  6. cndlou
    "Great article!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 20, 2019 at 5:45 PM
    View attachment 1783240 View attachment 1783237 Thanx for the tips! Love the hanging fruit! And love the ladder! My girls free range all day but rarely climb on the large branches & my ladder! They prefer my concrete patio! Lol! They do love scratching in the bamboo leaves & foraging for buggies & worms in the grass.
  7. LittleCheepers
    "Great article!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 19, 2019 at 11:58 PM
    I’ve been looking for information just like this - thanks!
  8. Albertan
    ""
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 18, 2019
    Great ideas! I am definitely doing the stairs!:love thank you!
  9. CuckooTheCrazyChicken
    "I'm definitely going to try some of these!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 18, 2019
    All my hens have in their run is food, water, oyster shells, grit, and a couple perches. We just took down a swing that they never used.

    I've never thought of such good ideas, so I am definitely going to try these.
  10. Robert G
    "Some great ideas!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 17, 2019
    Definitely going to try some of these. My flock used to free range then all the predators decided to attack (dogs, hawks, cats, and possums) so now confined to a pretty large run, but they need some excitement.

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: