Accessorizing Your Run- How to Make Your Run More Fun For Your Chickens

By Bloveschickens · Dec 26, 2014 · Updated Jan 24, 2015 · ·
Rating:
4.70588/5,
  1. Robert G
    "Some great ideas!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 17, 2019
    Definitely going to try some of these. My flock used to free range then all the predators decided to attack (dogs, hawks, cats, and possums) so now confined to a pretty large run, but they need some excitement.
  2. Tinderbox
    "Love it!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 17, 2019
    I free range in the back yard, so my actual coop area is kinda boring. These are good ideas to spice it up for the times I need to pen them up! :goodpost:
  3. TheBantyShanty
    "Great Ideas!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 14, 2019
    Good ideas! :thumbsup
  4. 007Sean
    "Good article"
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed May 13, 2019
    Good article on adding 'chicken furniture' to a coop/run.
  5. SunHwaKwon
    "Great ideas"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 13, 2019
    Thank you!
  6. Nats Chickens
    "Awesome Ideas!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 12, 2019
    I have been looking for ways to jazz up the run for my hens, your suggestions are really helpful!
  7. HennyPenny2019
    "Great ideas for fun"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 11, 2019
    This has given me some great ideas of fun things to add to my chickens lives.
  8. SurferchickinSB
    "Great ideas!"
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed May 10, 2019
    Chickens are amused by the simplest things! That’s what makes them so lovable!
    LittleCheepers and mumofsix like this.
  9. Patty from Ivy
    "Our run has kept our hens alive for over a year"
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed May 10, 2019
    We have only 3 Australorps and live in a wooded area with all the predators - Hawks, foxes, raccoons, etc. so a run was a necessity. In addition to the roosts, stumps and covered run, we put all purpose sand on the floor - makes for easy clean up with a long handled kitty litter scoop. The run is 10' X 14' and 6' tall with 18" apron around the base - there has been plenty of evidence of attempted digging but the girls are still alive and giving us eggs every day. We hung a wire basket from the roof and put greens in it to keep them entertained. Half inch hardware cloth used for all the run walls and apron. Thanks for this article!
  10. JBG acres
    "Great ideas"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 10, 2019
    All fun ideas.i have hay bales which my girls love and have made their own pile to scratch through here and there but I love the stair idea for some reason I ha not ever thought of hanging an apple for them. Thanks for all the great ideas!

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: