Coping With Death In Your Flock: 4 Actionable Steps

By laceynoelle · Jul 26, 2019 ·
Rating:
4.86667/5,
  1. slordaz
    "amazing article on compassion for harder aspects"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 22, 2019
    This article is amazing we will at some point or another have losses but what the author states is true, a lot of us do show more compassion to others and our animals than ourselves, and as hands on as most back yard flocks are it hits us big time. It is looking for the positive in a situation we are hurting from in the first place. We as humans keep learning I believe until the day we die theres always something to be learned if you can get past the emotional.

    I remember one time when I was a youngster and dad gave me a cow to raise, I saw her as a pet and really excited he thought I was responsible enough to raise her but dad saw her as a food source for leaner times. Well I did a good job she had 2 calves and as a pet I was so connected to her that when she was in trouble I knew even clear out in the barn in the middle of the night in a blizzard. Her calf was breach and she had to have help, well after waking up a irritated dad and him and grandpa went out and checked so I would shut up, then spending the time to help her, the next time I said dad Peachy is in trouble, they just got up and went and helped.

    The following year work was slow for both parents so dad made the call to process Peachy and her 2 calves to put food on the table for us kids. Dad was so mad, because I was angry he'd killed my cow and her babies that I had worked so hard to raise and raise right I refused to eat at the house for almost 2 years if it contained meat. I was young and inexperienced and dad forgot to explain that we would possibly be eating that calf he'd given to me to raise assuming I just knew it would be that way.
  2. SurferchickinSB
    ""
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 16, 2019
    Great article!
  3. shessowitte
    "Timely Wisdom"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 13, 2019
    If you’ve raised animals for any length of time, this article will help you get through the inevitable learning curve of losing some. Well done, and thanks for a great read.
    laceynoelle likes this.
  4. BuffOrpington567
    "Good"
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Aug 13, 2019
    one lesson from this, always be responsible!
  5. Cochin Love
    ""
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 11, 2019
    Thank you! I needed to hear this.
    laceynoelle likes this.
  6. cluckmecoop7
    "Great article!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 10, 2019
    This is a awesome article!
    laceynoelle likes this.
  7. goldysgirl
    "Nice!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 9, 2019
    Well written and insightful!
    laceynoelle likes this.
  8. LozzyR
    "Thank you"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 8, 2019
    Thank you for writing this. I lost my Barred Rock pullet yesterday and I’m gutted. She is the third chicken I have lost in less than two years and my heart is broken. I did all I could for her and it still wasn’t enough.
    ChickenAgain and laceynoelle like this.
    1. laceynoelle
      I'm so sorry, friend. (Hugs)
  9. ChickenAgain
    "These losses actually did break me"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 8, 2019
    During my first year of keeping chickens, I've been loosing several every month. It turned out that the CL man who sold them to me was breeding an unhealthy flock. I spent thousands on vet bills, only to bury them a couple months later. They died of anemia and congenital disorders. These losses were so hard on me that they actually changed me- I stopped caring for how i look, became withdrawn and prone to crying when thinking of my girls. Now looking back, the loss of my chickens was far more traumatic than divorce, break up, betrayal etc. The worst was when my dogs broke the fencing and tore apart 5 chickens. I came back home with my children and saw mutilated bodies of the birds that I loved so much. We were burying these poor chickens and even the meanest neighborhood boys were crying. I now have a double fence, buy only healthy chickens, if i notice any problems, go to the vet and demand an antibiotic. Sometimes chickens develop cancer or the could have congenital disorders. It really is not your fault.
    LozzyR and shessowitte like this.
    1. laceynoelle
      I'm so sorry for all of your losses! There is a huge learning curve when getting into raising any kind of animal, and monumental losses like your are so hard to cope with.
  10. Shadrach
    "I liked this but.."
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 7, 2019
    This is an important topic. The death of a chicken, pet or not can come as a major shock. Sometimes one doesn't realise the attachment made until the creature dies.
    I would have liked to read something about dealing with with the death of a chicken that the keeper has killed.
    I would also liked the author to deal with the disposal of the body. Something i struggle with is if the chicken was healthy, should I eat it.
    shessowitte and laceynoelle like this.
    1. laceynoelle
      Thank you for the feedback!
      I have a personal philosophy of not eating the pets, or eating any animal that has died unexpectedly from unknown causes. If you accidentally killed a chicken and processed it immediately afterwards, I would consider that safe. For example, once we had a dog attack a chicken and snap its neck. I processed her like I would any other bird. I hope this helps!

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: