We need your amazing chicken photos for our 2020 Calendar! Submit your pics HERE!

Coping With Death In Your Flock: 4 Actionable Steps

By laceynoelle · Jul 26, 2019 ·
Rating:
4.85714/5,
  1. SurferchickinSB
    ""
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 16, 2019 at 8:51 AM
    Great article!
  2. shessowitte
    "Timely Wisdom"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 13, 2019
    If you’ve raised animals for any length of time, this article will help you get through the inevitable learning curve of losing some. Well done, and thanks for a great read.
    laceynoelle likes this.
  3. BuffOrpington567
    "Good"
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Aug 13, 2019
    one lesson from this, always be responsible!
  4. Cochin Love
    ""
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 11, 2019
    Thank you! I needed to hear this.
    laceynoelle likes this.
  5. cluckmecoop7
    "Great article!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 10, 2019
    This is a awesome article!
    laceynoelle likes this.
  6. goldysgirl
    "Nice!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 9, 2019
    Well written and insightful!
    laceynoelle likes this.
  7. LozzyR
    "Thank you"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 8, 2019
    Thank you for writing this. I lost my Barred Rock pullet yesterday and I’m gutted. She is the third chicken I have lost in less than two years and my heart is broken. I did all I could for her and it still wasn’t enough.
    ChickenAgain and laceynoelle like this.
    1. laceynoelle
      I'm so sorry, friend. (Hugs)
  8. ChickenAgain
    "These losses actually did break me"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 8, 2019
    During my first year of keeping chickens, I've been loosing several every month. It turned out that the CL man who sold them to me was breeding an unhealthy flock. I spent thousands on vet bills, only to bury them a couple months later. They died of anemia and congenital disorders. These losses were so hard on me that they actually changed me- I stopped caring for how i look, became withdrawn and prone to crying when thinking of my girls. Now looking back, the loss of my chickens was far more traumatic than divorce, break up, betrayal etc. The worst was when my dogs broke the fencing and tore apart 5 chickens. I came back home with my children and saw mutilated bodies of the birds that I loved so much. We were burying these poor chickens and even the meanest neighborhood boys were crying. I now have a double fence, buy only healthy chickens, if i notice any problems, go to the vet and demand an antibiotic. Sometimes chickens develop cancer or the could have congenital disorders. It really is not your fault.
    LozzyR and shessowitte like this.
    1. laceynoelle
      I'm so sorry for all of your losses! There is a huge learning curve when getting into raising any kind of animal, and monumental losses like your are so hard to cope with.
  9. Shadrach
    "I liked this but.."
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 7, 2019
    This is an important topic. The death of a chicken, pet or not can come as a major shock. Sometimes one doesn't realise the attachment made until the creature dies.
    I would have liked to read something about dealing with with the death of a chicken that the keeper has killed.
    I would also liked the author to deal with the disposal of the body. Something i struggle with is if the chicken was healthy, should I eat it.
    shessowitte and laceynoelle like this.
    1. laceynoelle
      Thank you for the feedback!
      I have a personal philosophy of not eating the pets, or eating any animal that has died unexpectedly from unknown causes. If you accidentally killed a chicken and processed it immediately afterwards, I would consider that safe. For example, once we had a dog attack a chicken and snap its neck. I processed her like I would any other bird. I hope this helps!
  10. HeatherMo
    "Well written"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 6, 2019
    thank you!

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: