Egg Song Music Factory

By rosemarythyme · Jun 23, 2018 · Updated Dec 28, 2018 · ·
Rating:
4.45/5,
  1. Brahmachicken240
    "Nice coop"
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Jan 16, 2019 at 3:01 PM
  2. Anonymous
    "Very nice coop, cute name too!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jan 12, 2019
    Cryss likes this.
  3. MandaRae
    "I love it!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jan 10, 2019
    I really love this setup! We have an old turtle sandbox I've been hanging onto hoping to find a use for!!

    Can i ask What kind of camera is that? I really want a camera for the coop. We currently use YI for the driveway/front door & the kids' room but it's pretty cruddy. I wanted something better for the coop.
    Cryss likes this.
    1. rosemarythyme
      The camera brand is Ring, the model is Stick Up Cam - the main reason I chose it was I needed it to be battery powered and on wi-fi. Since they're waterproof I might get another one for use in the run.
  4. eggup
    ""
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jan 10, 2019
    Great set up!
  5. Chica'sChickens
    "Beautiful"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jan 10, 2019
    I love reading stories like this. Your chickens are lucky to have you! I, too started with a prefabricated coop, as we aren't allowed chickens in my town. So I figured if I get "busted" I'll be out about $500. So this Spring I'm building a great lil home for the Egg Queens!
    Thank you for sharing your story!!!
    Cryss likes this.
  6. BReeder!
    "Nice!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jan 9, 2019
    I like it a lot. It's very well thought out. I am stealing the idea of obstacles in the run - I have pushed everything into corners to keep the run wide open, but it makes sense to have feeders, waters, dust baths and other things act as obstacles to provide coverage when somebody steps out of the pecking order. I like the creative touches to the coop. We are building a new coop by converted a portion of our shed to a coop. This has inspired me to have some fun with it.
    1. rosemarythyme
      For some reason I thought I had my run layout in this article too - fixed now!

      Even though I no longer need the obstacles for integration purposes the chickens seem to like having some clutter in the run. Not only does it continue to provide hiding spots for lower ranked birds but I find that the chickens just seem to like having things to explore around.
  7. Clubber1234
    "This is........"
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Jan 8, 2019
    AMAZING!!!!!
  8. BirdieChickenLady
    "Life's changing ways..."
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jan 8, 2019
    Years ago, if anyone had told me what I'd find fascinating today, I'd would have thought they were bat-crazy! This new coop of yours is wonderfully thought out and while being practicable is a pretty home for your girls! I hope they have thanked you properly!
    I read the article beginning to end utterly intrigued. Thank you for sharing!
  9. Aunt Angus
    "Awesome!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jan 7, 2019
    This is a great coop! Lots of ventilation, nice fenced run covered in netting, and adorable "extras!" I love how you included pictures of your old coop vs your new coop. I can see a lot of BYC influence in there, and I'm sure the Egg Song Factory will pass on that inspiration to others. Very well done!
    1. rosemarythyme
      Oh wow my coop got featured!

      Yes there's a lot of BYC influence. I don't think the new coop would've come out nearly the same without it, from amount of ventilation to the litter used. I'm glad someone urged me to photograph both old and new coops together before the old one was removed, because it really does illustrate the difference between what I thought I knew going in, and what I've learned in the 2 years since then.
  10. casportpony
    ""
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Dec 31, 2018
    Lovely!

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: