Hatching Eggs with a Broody Hen

This article is based on my own experience.
By chickenmama109 · Sep 3, 2019 · ·
Rating:
5/5,
  1. MROO
    "Great Broody Article"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 16, 2019
    The pics absolutely MAKE this article!
    chickenmama109 likes this.
    1. chickenmama109
      Thank you!!
  2. Noellereagan
    "Great Article!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 12, 2019
    And you’re so sweet! I like how you used so many of the photos you posted a request for! That’s a great idea! When I write something I may follow suit!
    chickenmama109 likes this.
    1. chickenmama109
      Thank you so much!! So glad you enjoyed the article. :)
  3. sealer39
    ""
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 10, 2019
    Thanks for answering questions I had. I just need a hen to go broody now.
    chickenmama109 likes this.
    1. chickenmama109
      Thank you!!
  4. DobieLover
    "Very nice. Sweet pictures!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 6, 2019
    The only suggestions I can offer about this article are:

    1) you do not NEED to candle the eggs. I didn't and 3 out 4 hatched just fine. I tossed the dud.
    2) marking the eggs is a must. Moving a dedicated broody to a proper nest site will not break her. If it does, you might not want to allow her to brood. You will, however, need to watch her every time she leaves the nest to make sure she goes to the new nest site. You controlling when she leaves the nest by removing her in the morning and late afternoon will allow you to more easily monitor this.
    3) if your broody hen is not regularly leaving the nest, at the morning feeding and in the late afternoon, gently remove her and set her down off the nest. Watch her to make sure she breaks the broody trance and runs off. If she doesn't, give her a "peck" to the neck and that will help her snap out of it. I've seen both the rooster and other hens do this to my broody.

    You don't want her to stay on the nest constantly. She needs to stretch her legs and wings, eat, drink, POOP (nothing like a broody poop!), dust bathe and preen. As long as the weather is warm, don't worry about her being off the nest for as long as 1 1/2 hours. They eggs will be fine!
    Noellereagan and chickenmama109 like this.
  5. Fur-N-Fowl
    "Great Article & Read!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 4, 2019
    I loved having a read through this!

    It's nicely set out and easy for people to understand and get straight to the point :)
    chickenmama109 likes this.
    1. chickenmama109
      Thank you!! So glad you enjoyed it.
  6. Brahmachicken240
    "Excellent article!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 4, 2019
    chickenmama109 likes this.
    1. chickenmama109
      Thank you
  7. slordaz
    "awesome article"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 3, 2019
    easiest way to hatch eggs, let momma hen do it, gives a good overlook for someone new to chickens on what to expect. One thing I don't do is candle if momma is raising them until she's left the nest with the babies usually within 24 hours, and sometimes there are eggs that for some reason were a little behind. Maybe a chill or she tried to incubate to many at once. I will candle any left in the nest as several times there have been a straggler or 2 that are still viable jsut not ready to hatch, I do have a small incubator that will hold up to 12 egg that is quick to get up if there are some eggs left in next that are still viable, my experience leaving them there she is more likely to harm the other chicks if they hatch out later under her after the others have been out a day. Then you can try to put them under her at night and watch for a bit to see if she accepts or attacks. Be prepared though to brood any that hatch out, usually it's taken me about a week of taking care of the chick and getting it out daily with the other chicks she's raising before she will accept them. Hope this little tidbit helps someone else.
    chickenmama109 likes this.
  8. KikiDeAnime
    "Great article!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 3, 2019
    Great article with some amazing information!
    chickenmama109 likes this.
    1. chickenmama109
      Thank you!!

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: