How To Incubate & Hatch Chicken Eggs - Just 21 Days From Egg To Chicken!

Incubating and hatching eggs is one of the most enjoyable aspects of chicken keeping. Learn more about this amazing process!
By BYC Support · Jan 10, 2012 · Updated Jul 31, 2013 · ·
Rating:
4.66667/5,
  1. sealer39
    "I’ll be back!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 4, 2019
    I plan to incubate some eggs next spring (unless one of my hens beat me to it). I’ll be referring back to this page for review.
  2. HeiHeisMom
    "Basics of incubation"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Apr 15, 2019
    Great general info and pics provided.
    Wonderful beginner guide!
  3. kip5254
    "Beginner"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Feb 15, 2019
    I'm a beginner looking into incubating my own eggs this year and this was super helpful with laying out the Do's and Don't's!
  4. Lisa-m-b
    "Great information"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Feb 6, 2019
    well written and very informative!!
  5. Chuckopolis
    "Helpful."
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Feb 6, 2019
  6. Gecko2T
    "Great Article"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jan 26, 2019
    Nicely written! Very concise and easy to follow. Thank you !!
  7. Brahmachicken240
    "Amazing article with fabulous information"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jan 10, 2019
  8. bonsaiherb
    "Incubating and hatching Chicken Eggs"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 15, 2018
    Well written and easy to understand. A good 101 on incubating eggs.
    I would just add - do not have oils, hand lotion or other things on your hands/fingers as you manually handle the egg turning.
    Greasing them up so to speak.

    I also think that over humidifying the incubator is the greatest concern. A house usually is about 70 degrees humidity so the basic need is close to being met without adding too much water. if condensation forms on your incubator lid - do not add more until it is gone.
    Just remember a chicken does not sweat so a broody hen unless she spits on the eggs is not going to be adding humidity. Not sure how this works in overly humid areas like the South or even the East Coast during the summer.
    A hen can only do so much to regulate the heat and humidity of her brood.
  9. Goldenrod1210
    "Great Article!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 10, 2018
    Tells everything you need to know. In the future I may incubate so I will for sure take a look back on this article. :)
  10. alexa009
    "This article tells it all!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 31, 2018
    This article tells all of the information of incubating and hatching eggs! I always new baby chicks were susceptible to drowning so I give them water in something small then in a couple of weeks get something bigger like a little dog bowl.

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: