How To Incubate & Hatch Chicken Eggs - Just 21 Days From Egg To Chicken!

Incubating and hatching eggs is one of the most enjoyable aspects of chicken keeping. Learn more about this amazing process!
By BYC Support · Jan 10, 2012 · Updated Jul 31, 2013 · ·
Rating:
4.52632/5,
  1. bonsaiherb
    "Incubating and hatching Chicken Eggs"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 15, 2018
    Well written and easy to understand. A good 101 on incubating eggs.
    I would just add - do not have oils, hand lotion or other things on your hands/fingers as you manually handle the egg turning.
    Greasing them up so to speak.

    I also think that over humidifying the incubator is the greatest concern. A house usually is about 70 degrees humidity so the basic need is close to being met without adding too much water. if condensation forms on your incubator lid - do not add more until it is gone.
    Just remember a chicken does not sweat so a broody hen unless she spits on the eggs is not going to be adding humidity. Not sure how this works in overly humid areas like the South or even the East Coast during the summer.
    A hen can only do so much to regulate the heat and humidity of her brood.
  2. Goldenrod1210
    "Great Article!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 10, 2018
    Tells everything you need to know. In the future I may incubate so I will for sure take a look back on this article. :)
  3. alexa009
    "This article tells it all!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 31, 2018
    This article tells all of the information of incubating and hatching eggs! I always new baby chicks were susceptible to drowning so I give them water in something small then in a couple of weeks get something bigger like a little dog bowl.
  4. tjo804
    "Great overview"
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Jul 27, 2018
    Nicely written easy to understand wording. I like the links and pics also.

    Thank you for sharing :clap
    Great job
  5. igorsMistress
    "Excellent article"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jul 22, 2018
    I found this article to be very helpful. The links for additional reading are a great addition and very much appreciated.
    tjo804 likes this.
  6. CrziChickMom
    "Quite informative"
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Jul 20, 2018
    This article was quite informative but, there were also a few confusing areas and, some information, i feel was left out, that would be important for even a basic incubating guide.
    Of course, I'm no expert. I've simply incubated with a fair amount of luck and, personal experience.
    Other than that, this is a great beginner's guide!

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: