We need your amazing chicken photos for our 2020 Calendar! Submit your pics HERE!

How To Process A Chicken At Home

Meat chickens are one meat source that can be raised with minimal space, convert feed efficiently, and can be processed at home with not much more...
By booker81 · Feb 19, 2012 · Updated Mar 27, 2012 · ·
Rating:
5/5,
  1. Kee11
    "So informative; simple and succinct!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 16, 2019
    What a great article. Really well written and beautifully presented. Factual without any fluff. A+
  2. Curnow
    "Informative and Well Written"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 13, 2019
    Very nicely done. Pictures of the process were great.
  3. BigBlueHen53
    "Great Read, very helpful!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 12, 2019
    Gives me courage to try this myself soon. Thank you for taking the fear and mystery out of it!
  4. Awiegand21
    "Very informative."
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 11, 2019
    Great details and pictures. Thank you for sharing!
  5. Evilkitty162
    "Good read on how to slaughter and pluck a chicken"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 9, 2019
    I've always wondered how to do this so I'd know how to later.
  6. BReeder!
    "Great details"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 9, 2019
    Incredible amount of detail. Great article.
    natyvidal likes this.
  7. natyvidal
    "Excellent detailed article."
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 9, 2019
    Very good article. Looking forward to doing my own. I loved the detailed pictures. I would leave the tail though, it’s really one of my favorite part of the chicken. . Thank you!
    Awiegand21 and WiseSquirrel like this.
  8. alexisrambles
    "So much help!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 9, 2019
    Part of me is starting to yak, but the rest of me is completely fascinated by this.
    I know I'll do it sooner or later. And this is honestly the best guide I've seen to cleaning and prepping a chicken carcass!
  9. boggart
    "Wonderful"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 9, 2019
    Images and wording are clear and descriptive without being overwhelming. A lovely tutorial and much better than any I’ve read or seen before.
  10. Rammy
    "Great Instructions"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 8, 2019
    Im keeping this as a reference for the next time I process chickens. I did my own couple months ago and know I made mistakes. This will help alot.

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: