How To Raise Mealworms

Everyone who has a small flock of chickens should raise mealworms, not because chickens need them, but because they love them.
By Gallo del Cielo · Jan 11, 2012 · Updated Sep 25, 2014 · ·
Tags:
Rating:
4.93617/5,
  1. Kgee
    "Great step by step article!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 29, 2018
    This mealworm how-to is exactly what I was looking for. Well written & easily understood. Thanks!
  2. Joeschooks
    "Great article!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 24, 2018
    I spend far too much in mealworms! I may have to give this a try! Thanks for the informative article.
  3. Dave Vickery
    ""
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 19, 2018
    Thanks for sharing your expereince. This is really helpful and something I couldn't find concisely elsewhere
  4. ABGhomestead
    "Awesome info"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 7, 2018
    So glad to find this, about to start a colony of my own!
  5. EggWalrus
    ""
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jul 25, 2018
    Most informative!
  6. KikiLeigh02
    "So helpful!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jul 21, 2018
    Our colony is thriving! Thanks so much for the start-up instructions!
  7. ThatGuyWithTheChickens
    "Very Informative"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jun 21, 2018
    I currently raise red wrigglers for composting but I've been thinking about starting on mealworms for a while for my chickens. If I'd known it was this easy I would have started a long time ago!
  8. Kelly Dian
    ""
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 25, 2018
    Great info. I started raising mine on May 12th. So far so good.

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: