How To Raise Mealworms

Everyone who has a small flock of chickens should raise mealworms, not because chickens need them, but because they love them.
By Gallo del Cielo · Jan 11, 2012 · Updated Sep 25, 2014 · ·
Tags:
Rating:
4.93617/5,
  1. Ladies-Eight
    ""
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 28, 2019
    I used this article to set up my mealworm colony. I still have them all together and they are reproducing rapidly. My chickens are really enjoying them. It was very easy to follow his instructions. The picture says it all about why I love this article. This is just one corner of my aquarium. IMG_0402.JPG
  2. 007Sean
    "Good article"
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed May 16, 2019
    Nicely written. Easy to follow. Just one way of many ways to raise mealworms.
  3. Beak1960
    "Great Advice - thank you!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 4, 2019
  4. Tara Bear
    "Excellent meal worm raising article!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 30, 2019
    Fantastic information that focuses on what is important! My future chicks thank you!
  5. N F C
    "Good Information"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 23, 2019
  6. Florida Chicken Lady
    ""
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Feb 18, 2019
    I'm looking forward to trying this!
  7. Silkies for life
    "Totally going to try this!!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jan 21, 2019
  8. DDRanch
    "Will try again. Great article."
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Nov 14, 2018
    I tried raising meal worms a couple of years ago using three bins to separate the different worm stages as recommmended by the article I followed. Didnt last long as it was cumbersome and took more time than I was willing to spend.

    This article fives me the confidence and alternative one container method that I am confident will work for me. Thank you, and my girls thank you too.
  9. Anonymous
    "I have to try this soon!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Nov 8, 2018
    I've always been interested in raising mealworms, especially in the winter with no bugs in sight for the flock. I might just try this later this week!
  10. MissChick@dee
    "I’ve got to try this!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 7, 2018
    Very straight forward information. I really want to give this a try.

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: