How To Tame Chickens from the Start

By Mountain Peeps · Nov 8, 2014 · Updated Dec 5, 2014 · ·
Rating:
4.83333/5,
  1. TERMINATORATIS
    "Taming the chicken"
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 26, 2019
    You definitely touched all the aspects in your article.I made similar experiences with my flock. Early start makes great difference how easygoing will be to handle your flock. It's very useful to have friendly birds, especially when you have to check them or treat them for any reason. Our chicks are grown now and we haven't any issues with corraling them back in coop or keeping them together while they are on the pasture.Even our rooster is very friendly as you can see Folks. Patience pays off when you start early.
    Great passion you showed. 71fd5abef45e01f37794bbb909698320.jpg 20190610_202454_1560217011070_001.jpg

    images

    1. 20190316_212918_HDR.jpg
    2. 20190320_221749_HDR.jpg
    3. IMG_20190915_190147875~2.jpg
  2. CaramelKittey
    "Awesome!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 22, 2019
    Great work! This was super enjoyable and interesting! I’ll have to follow your methods next batch of chicks!
  3. HomesteaderWife
    "Cute Article!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 22, 2019
    I love the mention of the "flying" happy behavior when they follow you as youngsters. What a great article with cute photos to accompany it. I also highly suggest trying clicker training with young birds to help further socialize with them
    :thumbsup GREAT WORK!:goodpost:
  4. WestdaleFarmer
    "Very enjoyable"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 22, 2019
    I've done a little bit of that with my Columbian Wyandottes. They're about 7 months old now, and very friendly and curious. Not so much into cuddling anymore but I've noticed that as they get a little bit older, they don't act so nervous when I pick them up. Of course they've always loved being tucked under my arm for a short walk around the farm. That usually winds up near the the pile of grass clippings and some quality scratching and snack-time.

    Overall, excellent article and wonderful advice.
  5. brindlelove
    "great"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 11, 2019
    loved the article
    Feathers Brady likes this.
  6. Brady bunch
    "Amazing article!!!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 10, 2019
    Great article!! Love the pictures!!!
    Feathers Brady likes this.
  7. mviera101
    "Awesome !"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 7, 2019
    Feathers Brady likes this.
  8. ButtonquailGirl14
    "Great read! This is exactly what I did!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 7, 2019
    Feathers Brady likes this.
  9. micstrachan
    "Wonderful Advice"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 6, 2019
    This is a fantastic step-by-step tutorial and I can attest, it works! Tame chickens are so enjoyable!
    Feathers Brady likes this.
  10. Chickengene
    "Pet chickens are my two edged sword"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 5, 2019
    I enjoyed the article. Lots of good info.
    I was thinking though how fortunate I was to have tamed all my birds just by the fact I am in the yard with them most of the day every day.
    But I am noticing it is a two edged sword. On one hand it feels sweet that they like following me around. But when I reach the bottom ring of a ladder with my arms full and nowhere to put my foot without stepping on a chicken, it gets unnerving.
    Today while ripping down a 12' long 2 x 8 on my table saw, I was attempting to balance the board balance myself and not kick or step on one of the four young pullets under that follwedf me to the saw.
    I read somewhere on BYC that scaring them one time can undo a lot of that bond of trust.

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: