How To Tame Chickens from the Start

By Mountain Peeps · Nov 8, 2014 · Updated Dec 5, 2014 · ·
Rating:
4.85185/5,
  1. CaramelKittey
    "Awesome!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 22, 2019 at 7:35 PM
    Great work! This was super enjoyable and interesting! I’ll have to follow your methods next batch of chicks!
  2. HomesteaderWife
    "Cute Article!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 22, 2019 at 4:00 PM
    I love the mention of the "flying" happy behavior when they follow you as youngsters. What a great article with cute photos to accompany it. I also highly suggest trying clicker training with young birds to help further socialize with them
    :thumbsup GREAT WORK!:goodpost:
  3. WestdaleFarmer
    "Very enjoyable"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 22, 2019 at 12:09 AM
    I've done a little bit of that with my Columbian Wyandottes. They're about 7 months old now, and very friendly and curious. Not so much into cuddling anymore but I've noticed that as they get a little bit older, they don't act so nervous when I pick them up. Of course they've always loved being tucked under my arm for a short walk around the farm. That usually winds up near the the pile of grass clippings and some quality scratching and snack-time.

    Overall, excellent article and wonderful advice.
  4. brindlelove
    "great"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 11, 2019
    loved the article
    Feathers Brady likes this.
  5. Brady bunch
    "Amazing article!!!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 10, 2019
    Great article!! Love the pictures!!!
    Feathers Brady likes this.
  6. mviera101
    "Awesome !"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 7, 2019
    Feathers Brady likes this.
  7. ButtonquailGirl14
    "Great read! This is exactly what I did!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 7, 2019
    Feathers Brady likes this.
  8. micstrachan
    "Wonderful Advice"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 6, 2019
    This is a fantastic step-by-step tutorial and I can attest, it works! Tame chickens are so enjoyable!
    Feathers Brady likes this.
  9. Chickengene
    "Pet chickens are my two edged sword"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 5, 2019
    I enjoyed the article. Lots of good info.
    I was thinking though how fortunate I was to have tamed all my birds just by the fact I am in the yard with them most of the day every day.
    But I am noticing it is a two edged sword. On one hand it feels sweet that they like following me around. But when I reach the bottom ring of a ladder with my arms full and nowhere to put my foot without stepping on a chicken, it gets unnerving.
    Today while ripping down a 12' long 2 x 8 on my table saw, I was attempting to balance the board balance myself and not kick or step on one of the four young pullets under that follwedf me to the saw.
    I read somewhere on BYC that scaring them one time can undo a lot of that bond of trust.
  10. doublecrossranch
    "Good info"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 4, 2019
    12E6B135-3450-4DEE-8D81-57DD00F131B8.jpeg We are about to start our second batch of chicks. This is very helpful information I wish I had the first time.

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: