How to treat sour crop and impacted crop and how to know which one you're dealing with

By azygous · Feb 14, 2018 · ·
Rating:
4.88/5,
  1. BigBlueHen53
    "Bookmarked to Favorites"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 21, 2019
    Great article, @azygous, thanks! I have bookmarked it/saved to my favorites so I can access it again quickly if/when I ever need it. Thanks so much to you and the other BYC experts who are so willing to share your knowledge, experience and expertise with newbies, rank beginners, and folks like me, who have had chickens for years but have been bumbling our way around in a fog of ignorance because we just didn't know what we didn't know! Our chickens thank you!
    Cryss and azygous like this.
  2. Mariakoltsa
    "Awesome"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Apr 1, 2019
    great and very helpful article.
    That yeast treatment you suggested, they have an oral gel for it aswell, is that okay too ?
    Cryss likes this.
  3. Purple_grape84
    "Good description of the different crop issues"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 14, 2019
    A good description and treatment options for the two main crop issues sour crop and impacted crop. Also has good treatment options and a follow up with pendulous crop treatment if your hen repeatedly has these issues.
    Cryss likes this.
  4. Robin K.
    ""
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Feb 17, 2019
    Good article
    Cryss likes this.
  5. Stardustrose
    "Very good article"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 26, 2018
    Thank you for sharing this. I read some people make the chicken vomit, so glad I found this article.
    Cryss and Wyorp Rock like this.
  6. aprilbos
    "Well written and easy to follow advice - thanks!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 6, 2018
    Wyorp Rock, Feathers Brady and Cryss like this.
  7. Feathers Brady
    "Great information!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 3, 2018
    I've read articles for weeks and nothing simplified this crop issue I'm having with my hen until now!! Thank you!
    Shes quarentined until tommorow and I'll know soon if she needs a bra or just yeast treatment.
    Wyorp Rock and Cryss like this.
  8. tjo804
    "Very informative"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jul 16, 2018
    i have not had problems like this thank God.
    But by reading your article I feel like I could help if one of my chickens needed me.

    Thank you for sharing your knowledge. I feel like I should read up on the digestive process now :clap
    Cryss likes this.
  9. PollyGirl21
    "Helpfull"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jul 12, 2018
    Cryss likes this.
  10. Anonymous
    "Excellent and informative !"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jul 5, 2018
    Thank you for writing this! It’s very informative and full of advice. Easy to understand and explains exactly what to do. I’m printing it out for my chicken medicine book for emergency’s.
    Cryss likes this.

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: