Kjkirks Member Page

By kjkirk, Jan 11, 2012 | |
  1. kjkirk
    First post... I'll use it for you to get to know me.
    I'm 27 and I'm currently a stay at home mommy to three wonderful (when they want to be) children. I'm looking to go back to work so we can pay of bills and get ahead. SOOOOOOOO not looking forward to going back but what has to be done has to be done. I have lived in Northen Nevada for 21 years and Fernley for 11 or so years. I moved to Reno to attend college but spent most of my free time helping my parents with their 5 acres which we now live on. They bought a house with alot less property.
    I have twin daughters and a son. They definately keep me busy between school, sports, and peewee 4-H. I also have a husband who I love very much and we just celebrated our 4 year wedding anniversary. As of right now we have 10 chickens, a rabbit, a cat and 3 goats. I'm looking to breed one of my goats (a Nubian called "Mama") in January. The other two goats are LaManchas. Baby is a wether and Una is a nanny but she developed mastitis and her udders have been irreversably damaged. As for our chichens we have 4 whites,2 Barred Rocks and 4 Araucanas. I am working on building another pen to get some fryers in the spring when our weather warms up, as well as some more layers. We are also thinking about getting a dog.
    I also do alot of gardening. I have a small section devoted to herbs. Right now I have chives, parsley, sage, and rosemary. I had more but we had a slight rabbit problem, they also ate my two tomato plants down to nothing. In the garden away from the house I have cucumbers (which have been attacked by chipmunks, furry little boogers), pumpkins, yellow crook neck squash, and potatos. I'm hoping (fingers crossed) that I will be able to afford the materials to build a hoop house over the area and plant my tomatoes in the garden and grow all winter.
    Well, I think that is about all for now.

    Share This Article

Comments

To make a comment simply sign up and become a member!

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by