Nest Boxes; why do we make a sitting hens job so difficult?

By Shadrach · Sep 25, 2018 · ·
Rating:
5/5,
  1. Lins_BE
    "Very good read"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 18, 2019
  2. ChickenCanoe
    "Nice"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Feb 11, 2019
    Very nice work @shadrach.
    Shadrach likes this.
    1. Shadrach
  3. RustikRoo
    ""
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Feb 4, 2019
    Great read
    SongBaby33 and Shadrach like this.
    1. Shadrach
      I'm pleased you enjoyed the article.
  4. Chick-N-Fun
    "Excellent read!!!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Feb 4, 2019
    Stockpilejoy, SongBaby33 and Shadrach like this.
    1. Shadrach
      Thank for reading the article.
  5. Gizabelle
    "Excellent article"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Feb 3, 2019
    Great observations and very well written! I especially appreciated the focus on natural behavior, and using it to improve keeping techniques.
    I too would be interested in reading your book. What topics will you cover?
    SongBaby33 and Shadrach like this.
    1. Shadrach
  6. Bamabexchicks
    "Great observational writing."
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Feb 3, 2019
    Will be earmarked for the future, when I find a Roo to breed my hens.
    Shadrach likes this.
    1. Shadrach
      I've got just the rooster for the job.
      Thanks for reading the article.
  7. sourland
    ""
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Feb 3, 2019
    The 'bowl' shaped nest - a basic and frequently overlooked reality. Well observed and written.
    Shadrach likes this.
    1. Shadrach
      Thanks for reading the article. For many I expect this type of nest isn't practicable but I found it interesting to observe what the hens preferred given a choice.
  8. DobieLover
    "Very informative article!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Nov 1, 2018
    Thanks, Shadrack! This article has prompted me to change the design of my nest boxes when I do my shed to coop conversion this spring. Anything to make my chickens lives more natural and enjoyable.
    SongBaby33 and (deleted member) like this.
    1. Shadrach
      Hello DobieLover.
      I'm pleased you liked the article. I
  9. k2panman
    "Great observations on nesting and well written!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 27, 2018
    Thanks for a great article! As a newbie, I was wondering what the best nesting materials were. Your observations and conclusions make very good sense. I really appreciate you taking the time and sharing this information. I just put together a nestbox condo - 3 in a row - built with plywood. I think I’ll find some shallow containers (maybe dish pans) to fill with a piece of sod a few inches thick, and put one of these in each box. Mahalo for all your help!
    SongBaby33 and (deleted member) like this.
    1. Shadrach
      Thanks for reading the article. Good luck with the pan and clod of earth idea.
  10. Bhapimama
    "So Interesting!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 16, 2018
    It makes so much sense to try and replicate what hens would do naturally! Thank you so much for this informative article. Please let us know when you publish your book!
    SongBaby33 and (deleted member) like this.
    1. Shadrach
      Thank you. The book is going very slowly but I intend to contact all thos e who have expressed an interest when its finished.

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: