Six Tips On Breaking Your Egg Eater

Although many people may say egg eating is impossible to break, and to just cull the hen, in many cases this is not true.
By StarLover21 · Feb 13, 2012 · Updated Mar 27, 2012 · ·
Rating:
4/5,
  1. Bak-Bak
    "Great article"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 16, 2019 at 2:47 AM
  2. Muscovy Wunda
    "Love that this popped up today of all days"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 13, 2019 at 10:23 PM
    Busted 3 out of 5 of my flock in corner this morning, egg on faces. As the girls have litterally just started laying this week I know the shells are slightly weak. Boosting the protein and trying the egg bombs!
    *edited to add*
    I have just tried the egg filled with dish soap on my Mother in Laws old maltese cross shitzu. Hes been an egg eater as long as he lived with her (but she never told us that when she sent him to live with us) and the absolute disgusted look on his face! he doesn't look like he'll be going near the coop for awhile 20190814_130513.jpg 20190814_130513.jpg
  3. Hardknockshomestead
    "Good info."
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 10, 2019
    I wouldn't try removing nesting material in my laying boxes. Otherwise, I liked the article.
  4. cluckmecoop7
    "pretty good."
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Aug 9, 2019
  5. Anonymous
    "Really"
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Aug 8, 2019
    Just eat the egg eater. Works every time and quit tossing eggs to your protein starved flocked. Management.
  6. 007Sean
    "Good article"
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed May 3, 2019
    I've been plagued with egg eaters before, never tried any of these tips but I think I will now. A good read, well written.
  7. TwoCrows
    "Great tips!"
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Dec 30, 2018
    It is very difficult to stop egg eating. It can be done however with a ton of intervention. This article gives you some valuable tips to curb the eating.
    Cathy Roberts likes this.
  8. The Farmers' Daughter
    "Helpful"
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 2, 2018
    Great tips on ways to break an egg eater. Having numerous options is great. If one doesn't work, move onto the next.
    Cathy Roberts likes this.
  9. CCUK
    "Good article"
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Jul 29, 2018
    Egg eating can be very difficult to stop. Another way to increase protein is to give them growers pellets but be sure to have plenty of oyster shell available.
    Cathy Roberts likes this.
  10. ronott1
    "Perpetuates the myth of the egg eating hen"
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Jul 22, 2018
    Articles saving grace is the instructions on prevention. Those are actually the best instructions for stopping egg eating.

    Pecking an egg to see if it is good for hatching is normal hen behavior. Also normal is eating the egg if it breaks.

    It is simple but can be hard to do..in order to stop egg eating, fix the egg shells!

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: