The Egg song, it’s not about the egg; it’s an escort call.

By Shadrach · Sep 23, 2018 · ·
Rating:
5/5,
  1. The Golden Egg5
    "Wow! The egg song mystery has been solved!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Feb 14, 2019 at 9:36 PM
    Great article! I had always assumed the hens we just having a little victory song after they laid, or possibly announcing to the other hens about their accomplishment! This makes much more sense. This also answers why sometimes the hens sing the song, and other times they don’t. Thank you for the information and the great read! :clap
    Egg - Static likes this.
  2. Anonymous
    "Explains a LOT"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Feb 14, 2019 at 11:08 AM
    This certainly explains certain behaviors, however, Im curious as to why my girls still give the call while enclosed for the winter in a 12x9 coop with the rooster. Is it possible that my hens do not like my rooster? And if so, are they hoping to attract a different roo?
    Egg - Static and Shadrach like this.
    1. Shadrach
      I really don't know much about how much of the behavior I see with free range multiple groups of chickens translates to those kept in a coop and run.
      Here, it's the response of nay rooster that satisfies the hen, it has to be her rooster. When I've had father and sons here if the hen is one of the fathers favorites and as often the case one of the sons shows up, the hen keeps calling until the father arrives. There are complexities to do with keeping arrangements and rooster/cockerel numbers.
  3. shessowitte
    "Mystery Unraveled!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Feb 13, 2019
    Great article and so fun to observe now that I understand what’s going on. Thank you!
    Egg - Static and Shadrach like this.
    1. Shadrach
      I take it you have seen similar behavior?
  4. pidgejr
    "Great explanation for "Why the egg song?""
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Feb 6, 2019
    I will definietly watch the flocks activities around this song after reading this great article
    Shadrach likes this.
    1. Shadrach
      Please do comment here if you see this behavior in your flock.
  5. Animal-lover339
    "Interesting and informative"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Feb 6, 2019
    Shadrach likes this.
    1. Shadrach
      I'm pleased you found it interesting.
  6. TashaFrancois
    "Fascinating Theory & Testing"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Feb 6, 2019
    I always assumed it was something akin to human labor pain calls. But this instantly convinced me that an escort call is the only thing that makes sense. I vote this article of the year 2019!
    Shadrach likes this.
    1. Shadrach
      Thanks for reading the article. If you free range and have a rooster its something to look out for.
  7. growurfood
    "insightful, informative !"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Feb 5, 2019
    Interesting look at the how and why a hen makes her "egg call," seems she's actually calling her rooster back because she's done laying and wants to be escorted back to the rest of the flock. Great post!
    Shadrach likes this.
    1. Shadrach
      Thanks for reading the article. hens make the same call when they get separated from the group.
  8. Leecie
    ""
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Feb 5, 2019
    Wow i never realized
    Shadrach likes this.
    1. Shadrach
      It's easier to see in some circumstances than it is in others.
      Thanks for reading the article.
  9. igorsMistress
    "Very interesting"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Feb 5, 2019
    Thank you for sharing your observations and thoughts with us. I've seen my own roo escorting the girls back to the herd after they call. I found it sweet and romantic :gigI honestly thought it was for protection and not about keeping other roosters away though. I never thought about it from that perspective.

    I love that you experimented to prove your theory too. Great article Shad!
    Shadrach likes this.
    1. Shadrach
      Hey IM. It would be lovely if it was romance but I think the truth is somewhat more basic ;)
      They do do romance though imo but that's another article. Thanks for reading the article.
  10. BuffOrps32
    "Eye Opening"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Feb 5, 2019
    Helpful to know when hens start clicking at each other.
    Shadrach likes this.
    1. Shadrach
      Thanks for reading the article.

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: