The Ultimate Wintertime Chicken-Keeping Preparation Checklist!

What are YOU doing to prepare for winter? If this is your first time keeping chickens over the winter and you’re not sure what to do, or you’re...
Rating:
5/5,
  1. gimmie birdies
    ""
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Feb 10, 2019 at 12:20 PM
    Good article, I have my baby (5.5 week old chicks ) out side, with chained, super attached, screwed in, and secured heat lamps. (no birds can get to the lamps, chicks are not near big birds.) They are all warm, running about acting like they have chores to accomplish. I bring the babies, and the big birds fresh water 3 times a a day, I have the time, and I love visiting, plus while I am out I can collect eggs, and visit with birds.
  2. MyChickenFriends
    "Great Article!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Nov 10, 2018
    Whatever questions I had on winterizing my coop were answered in your article. Thanks!:goodpost:
  3. BecBec89
    "Very informative for wintertime prepping!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Nov 8, 2018
  4. Feathers Brady
    "Great information!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 30, 2018
    I enjoyed the read! Learned alot! Thanks for sharing!
    pipdzipdnreadytogo likes this.
  5. The Farmers' Daughter
    "Wow!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 30, 2018
    Very thorough and well researched.
    Absolutely everything provided is useful.
    The addition of links covers everything more in depth.
    Well done!
    pipdzipdnreadytogo likes this.
  6. FarmerGirl101
    "Amazing!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 23, 2018
    This is great and a must-have checklist for all of those who live in the north
    pipdzipdnreadytogo likes this.
  7. sumi
    "Great job!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 23, 2018
    pipdzipdnreadytogo likes this.
  8. MROO
    "Read this BEFORE the cold sets in!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 17, 2018
    THANK YOU a thousand times! This cuts down so much hunt-time, sorting through threads and articles. You've covered pretty much everything - and just in time for the Maryland winters ... which are, unfortunately, right around the corner. I want my flip-flops back!
    pipdzipdnreadytogo likes this.
    1. pipdzipdnreadytogo
      Glad it helps! I'm in the denial stage still, personally -- I haven't put the flip-flops away yet! :P

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: