1 Nest Box???? Newbie coop builder

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by ChiknMama, Jun 5, 2011.

1. ChiknMama

ChiknMama Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 26, 2011
    We are putting together our coop today. We have 3 hens and were wondering if 1 nest box is enough or do we need a minimum of 2? We have 2 larger breeds, a buff orpington and a black australorp along with an EE. So also wondering what size we should make the nesting box or boxes. Thanks.

2. DFamilyChicks

DFamilyChicks Out Of The Brooder

May 11, 2011
    Bellingham, WA
    I'm not an expert...but I've read that one nesting box for three birds is fine. I made my boxes W12" x L12" and 15" tall.

Have fun.

3. sammyh312

sammyh312 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 22, 2011
    If they are built-ins and you have the room, you might as well build at least four, cause you know you're gonna wind up with more chickens than you planned:D they will probably only wind up using just one box though.

4. ChiknMama

Apr 26, 2011
    Guess I should have said it would be external nesting box(es) not inside. We are saving as much inside space for the girls as possible since we have fairly long winters here and they will be in the coop with and indoor run for a good while when it snows etc.

5. Yay Chicks!

Yay Chicks! Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 15, 2010
    Forest Grove, OR
    I have a double wide for 4 and two will go in at a time to lay. Mine is external also.

6. SkyWalker209

SkyWalker209 Out Of The Brooder

May 23, 2011
    Tuolumne, CA
    I was told one box for 3 hens. I built two for 6 hens. One got killed and one ended up being a rooster. So now I have two boxes for 4 hens. I think it'll be just fine. If you (they) have the space I would build a one or two more.

7. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas