3 week chicks - Normal?

jedigurl

In the Brooder
Apr 18, 2024
MA
I'm brand new to chickens. I got 4 different breeds and I'm worried if my 3 week old chicks are each doing ok.
I got them at 3 days old. They have been inside near me and I watch them all the time. They are in a 2.5x4ft dog crate with wood shavings and a brooder plate. They eat medicated starter feed. I feed them damp feed from my hand and they run to me and climb all over my arms. :love

Black sex link (black)- She has stayed smaller then the others and her feathers are growing much more slowly. Is she growing ok for her breed? I got some nutri-drench and add it to their water once a week.
Americana (brown)- She is much bigger then the rest, thick legs, bossy, always wants to be the highest. Could she be a he? :hit
Buff Orpington (yellow)- She loves scratching and pecking and always has a very full stomach unless I take away their food overnight.
NH red (red)- Beautiful feathers, so friendly, but she smells yucky when I pick her up. Not quite like chicken poop, but unpleasant. She doesn't have any coughing or discharge. Why does she smell so bad?

Should I do something for any of them? Are these normal chicken things? Any help is gladly appreciated.

Attachments

• IMG_3151 (1).jpg
    IMG_3151 (1).jpg
    516.4 KB · Views: 28
  • IMG_3206.jpg
    IMG_3206.jpg
    681.6 KB · Views: 11
  • IMG_3271-EDIT.jpg
    IMG_3271-EDIT.jpg
    602.5 KB · Views: 12
  • IMG_3295.jpg
    IMG_3295.jpg
    858.3 KB · Views: 12
  • IMG_3309.jpg
    IMG_3309.jpg
    454.3 KB · Views: 12
Last edited:
They sound normal enough. Different breeds grow at different rates and sometimes you may get a bird that's a bit runty. I have a runt right now but she's still eating well and growing (just slower) so it is what it is. Your black chick doesn't look noticeably smaller to my eye.