5 assorted chicks, no idea what they are

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Dreamborn, May 11, 2007.

1. Dreamborn

Dreamborn New Egg

May 11, 2007
    Hello!

I am new to the whole chicken/waterfowl thing but chose to dive in head first. I recently bought 5 bantams from a feed store, and 2 ducks. I've read as much as one person could read about everything to do with bantams, but am still absorbing as much as I can. Needless to say at first it's information overload!! So far, I've had these chicks for 2 weeks and they are doing absolutely great! Chirpy, happy little fuzzballs. But I've not a clue if they are male and female and I've been trying to figure it out but I'm told to just wait. So, patiently I wait and watch and watch and obsess and watch lol.

Here are some pictures of them. Maybe someone could help me out and tell me what breeds and a guess on sex?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. cockadoodlemom

cockadoodlemom Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 25, 2007
    Texas
    [​IMG] Hello and Welcome too! You sure have some cuties! I have no clue with bantams. The waiting game is frustrating [​IMG] but the only way I know. Good Luck and hopefully someone else will be able to help you out.

3. mlheran

mlheran Chillin' With My Peeps

Cute chicks! [​IMG]
    I'd guess that the "chipmunk" one is an Ameraucana/Easter Egger (except now that I look again her legs don't look very green/slate... hmmm), and the brown with feathered feet is a Buff Brahma.

4. AccidentalFarm

AccidentalFarm Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 29, 2007
    I second the Buff Brahma. Can't say on the rest.
    The white/lt yellow one could be any number of things, but looks a lot like my White Rocks and White Leghorns did as chicks.

Edited to retract my guesses...I just re-read and noticed you said bantams. I know nothing about them.

Last edited: May 11, 2007
  5. herechickchick

herechickchick Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 28, 2007
    Memphis TN