5-day-old chick with coccidiosis symptoms, please help!

Winderdear

Crowing
Jun 16, 2023
:frowHello! Please forgive me for making my first greeting here and not in the welcome section. This is a lovely community and I’m so glad it exists, especially now when my baby chick is unwell and I need advice!

This is my first time raising chickens. My four mixed breed female chicks were hatched 5 days ago and arrived from the hatchery the next day, so I’ve had them in my care for 4 days. I noticed yesterday that one of my girls (a little dominique chick) was drinking a lot of water. She is smaller than the others and seems to eat less often. Initially she was not the runt of the group, but even the smallest one surpassed her on day 3. I fed her some egg yolk on day 3, because she was small, though I had seen her eating, but haven’t done so since. I noticed some runny droppings yesterday. My girls were not vaccinated, nor are they on medicated feed. After seeing that she was the one (or one of the ones) with the runny droppings, I did some research and decided to give her corid in her water. Initially I isolated her in a separate brooder, but I noticed there was another runny dropping in the newly cleaned brooder where only the other three girls had been, and as she was so distressed to be alone, I figured I should keep them all together and give them all corid in their waterer. Turns out the runny droppings are from my biggest and most active chick (a welsummer). She ate a fly yesterday, so perhaps that is the cause?