A dysfunctional group of feathers?

BrownEggsnHam

Chirping
10 Years
Apr 7, 2013
Southern Sweden
I'm a newbie in this chicken raising (addiction?) after just recently acquiring (less than two weeks ago) three hens and a rooster of about one year of age... Buff Orpingtons, they are.

We were informed that they were in a molting period as a couple of the hens had a few bare spots, one looking more like a 'Transylvanian naked neck', as it was lacking a good patch of neck feathers (back of the neck). After careful observation during the following two days, my realization was, though they were showing some small degree of possible molting, this one hen's nakedness seemed more a result of some brutal pecking by the two other hens and largely just one of those in particular. She had a dark scab on this bare part of the neck and there were no feather quills growing out at the time.

I had earlier built a chicken tractor that would be adequate for three Orpingtons but with the acquisition of these hens, the rooster was an extra (unaccounted for) part of the group, so I figured the tractor space might be insufficient. The house floor plan is 1.3 meter x 1.2 meter with additional space of two nesting boxes, while the entire run area measures, 1.3 meter x 3.1 meters. My feeling was that maybe this space was just a tad bit too tight for the four large birds so I quickly built a new house (0.7 meter x 1.8 meter plus one nest box) in the barn with an exterior run of 2 meter x 4 meter and an interior run of 2 meter x 5 meter. I separated the group by placing the attacked hen and the larger less aggressive hen in the barn and left the main "attacker" with the rooster in the chicken tractor.