A lesson learned... the HARD WAYY!!!

daddy_roo

Chirping
8 Years
Sep 6, 2011
Kentucky
I am brand new to raising chickens. My mother-in-law got 7 black sex link hens and 2 roosters. We built a coop that is essencially handicap accessable. It atatches to her house with a door leading right into the coop. Well I was down there gathering eggs and changing bedding, and I had my 2 year old Lab with me (Mistake numbr 1). I opened the outside entrnace door to go in, shut it behind me, and all of a sudden I heard the most god aweful ruckus behind me... the lab was trying to get in. She barked at one of the roosters that was standing about 12 inces away from the fence, and the rooster floged her nose. This aparently angered my lab and she came lunging at the rooster. So when she hit the fence the poultry wire stretched. She backed up and hit it again and... in the coop she came. Final damage was 1 dead hen, and 1 hen with almost an entire leg missing feathers. Naturally I grabbed my dog picked her up and tied her to the truck. Now I have a dead chicken ( and naturally she was one of my top layers.) and one in issolation. I have treated the wound on the injured hen and have her in her own cage. I looked around and I could not find any more chicken wire. But what I did find was an old piece of steel wire with 1" by 2" square holes. It was long enough to stretch across the entire side that the lab destroied. So I took my dog to the house, and brought back my air nailer. I put the wire around the bottom and nailed it to the posts with exactly 300 staples. I am sharing this with you to inform anyone who is brand new to this like I am that when building a chicken coop, focus on the botom of the run, or coop. I thought it was good but I learned better. Has anyone else had something similar happen to them? If so please share with me if you dont mind so I dont feel so stupid.
barnie.gif
hide.gif

hugs.gif
We all make mistakes. Don't beat yourself up too much.