A question About LGDs

harveyhorses

Songster
11 Years
Jan 16, 2010
Powhatan Va
So, years ago I worked in a shop in a strip of businesses, The people next door were great, and the owner lived out in the country and wanted to get a LGD, he bought a Kuvaez puppy. (that's how he said it was spelled.) she was adorable, he said they were very territorial, so he wanted to socialize her. I saw her every week Monday- Friday, I walked her, I trained her, she was really smart. IK thought she loved me, or at least knew me. Then, at just about 6 months she went Kujo. I mean jumped up and went for my face in a very nasty sort of way.. After that it was only her owners who could go anywhere near her, she patrolled their land and their shop. She would throw herself against the glass front if anyone went past. and if we made too much noise (we did like a friday night get together in our shop) she would throw herself against the wall. They ended up having to put her down when she went through the glass door and attacked a neighbor.
You may understand why I am leery. My question, are they all that protective? and if so how do you ever have anyone come to your farm? Vets? Farriers? Childrens friends?
I keep seeing the occasional add saying great for protecting your livestock, but no warning label. I know they take a LOT of training. (she was so smart, kept trying to be alpha, but I was not having any of that, she had to go through doors behind me, never let her put herself in a 'vantage point'. but she kept trying.
So, how do you do it?

Kuvaszok have been known to be a bit sharp and unstable, but that one sounds like she had a completely incorrect and dangerous temperament, whether due to the way she was raised or genetics. Putting her down was probably the correct thing to do.