A Tale of Two Roosters

OzarkChooks

Songster
Jul 12, 2021
So I have two cockerels or roosters. I can't remember when they are officially called roosters. Jefferson, an Easter egger, and Bruno the blue ameraucana. Bruno was supposed to be a hen and I was a little disappointed since I paid much more for him than some of the other chickens. My concern is that these two will kill each other. I am very new to raising chickens and to rooster behavior. They are 19 weeks old and so far seem to get along. Jefferson appears to be the dominant one because Bruno will run away from him when there is food involved. I have only seen then fight when Jefferson "mates" with some of the girls. The girls start making lots of noise and Bruno will come running over and attack Jefferson, kind of like he is saving the hen. I find this weird because when Bruno is mating, he will do it right in front of Jefferson and Jefferson does nothing. Jefferson also seems to be a bully, pulls out handfuls of feather from some of the ladies.... sometimes without even mating. Just because he feels like it I suppose. I thought roosters would find treats or food for the girls but Jefferson will chase them away from food and eat it all himself. We have seen him run up and grab the girls by their neck and just shake them in a circle, no mounting. He hasn't acted aggressive to us or our children but he is definitely not friendly. Very suspicious of us. I don't need him to be a cuddly pet, I just don't want him hurting my hens or kids. Bruno on the other hand seems very friendly. He will sit in my lap and let me pet him. He also is much more gentle with the girls. So my question is, by this age should I be seeing their true nature? If they were going to be aggressive, would it be showing by now? Is Jefferson's rough behavior normal with the hens?