Absolute NEWBIE!!!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by kiki1956, Jan 13, 2014.

1. kiki1956

kiki1956 New Egg

Jan 11, 2014
    Hi Everyone!

I just got the go ahead from my husband that we could start our little chicken farm. We purchased a large lot in Mexico and are starting to build our home there right now. Because we would like to be self sufficient (well I do) and want to know what we eat, we want to have chickens (eggs, meat, composter), goats (milk,cheese, butter, meat, composter) sheep (wool, milk, cheese, meat) and horses (fun). I am unsure about a cow, but it really depends on the goats and the milk we can get from those.

We (I) are starting with the chickens, because it seems easier this way. I have read a lot about raising chickens, which type are the best eggs layers - don't really want them for meat right now - chicken coops, tractors, etc.

I feel a little overwhelmed and do not really know how to start properly. I know I need a house for the chickens first, but because right now we are renting a house, I was thinking of starting with a chicken tractor type coop, and then build a proper, permanent one on our land.

I would appreciate any and all advise on how to do the start-up properly. I have to add here that I have never done anything like that before. I make my own bread, butter, yogurt, kefir (water and milk) and cheese, do all the canning and fermenting vegetables, but I buy all the products to make it from (mostly) organic producers. I am a little concerned with our dogs - we have two adopted strays, so we do not know exactly where they came from. One is mid-size mixed breed and has a non-functioning hind leg - a gift from my dog-loving friend - , the other is a dachshund (she is a purebred and a little crazy).

Will I have to worry about those two with the chickens? Since I do not plan to have them run free, only in the confines of the tractor, I was thinking it would be ok?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!