Advice for newbie- Questions on Aluminum shed as a coop

CA Bean

Songster
11 Years
Aug 12, 2008
Central Coast -California
Hi everyone! This is my very first post so forgive me in advance if I sound ignorant to the chicken world. ( I am new to it all)
After doing some searches on Aluminum sheds as coop I didn't find too much. We live in Coastal Central California so it doesn't get too cold nor too hot. ALthough we do have weeks that can be in the 90's in the summer but often it is 65-70ish degrees. The existing metal shed is 1/2 sun and 1/2 in shade under the oaks. So here are my questions:

Should I use the Aluminum shed (5ft high by 8ft x8 ish)and will I be happy or shall I just try to make a recycled/low cost/craigslist/freecycle coop and be better off? I plan one day to have maybe 30ish chickens and add or make more coops when necessary. I don't plan on having them all at once. Starting with most likely 5-6.
smile.png
We want to be more self sustainable with eggs and meat chickens.

The run would also be under the oaks. I am wondering if that is not enough sun? Is it too shadey? It will have wind coming through. I could possibly move it to a sunnier area but prefer not to.

Shall I insulate the inside of the shed? We don't get snow but we do get to be 35ish deg in some of the winter months. I assume I would atleast put plywood or something inside the shed. Any suggestion would be greatly appreciated.

It has plywood floor right now and it is just maybe 5 inches off the ground-shall I raise it higher? Thenshall I cover it with vinyl although I like the sound of doing the deep litter method.

Anyone have a pic of Aluminum sheds as coops?
Thanks so much for any response. I am soo excited about chickens!

Last edited:
welcome-byc.gif